Hinterland

Neapoli

Home / Reiseziele / Hinterland / Neapoli

Neapoli

Neapoli, der historische Sitz der Gemeinde, befindet sich im nordwestlichen Teil der Präfektur Lassithi, der so genannten Region von Ano Mirabello und ist 15 Minuten von der Stadt von Agios Nikolaos entfernt. Es ist der Sitz der Metropolis von Petra und Cherronisos, sowie der Sitz der Justizbehörden. Voll alten Herrenhäuser, malerischen Gassen und gut erhaltenen osmanischen Brunnen.

Der zentrale Platz mit dem Stadtgarten und der Kirche der Großen Panagia, ergänzt das imposante Erscheinungsbild und die Ruhe der Region. Neben der Kirche der Großen Panagia befindet sich das Folkloremuseum von Neapoli. Es wurde 1979 gegründet und seine Ausstellungsstücke ermöglichen es dem Besucher, einen vollständigen Eindruck des Lebens von Mirabello zu gewinnen. Die umliegende Region ist voll von Klöstern und Kirchen. Ein großes historisches Denkmal ist das Fränkische Kloster „Fraro“ sowie die archäologische Stätte von Driros.

Die Region ist ebenfalls für die Veranstaltungen berühmt, die dort jedes Jahr stattfinden. Festliche, kulturelle und athletische Veranstaltungen finden auf dem zentralen Platz statt, mit Höhepunkt das große Volksfest am 14. und 15. August.

Kultur

Archäologische Sammlung Neapoli

In den Sammlungen sind enthalten: Ausgrabungsfundstücke der französischen archäologischen Schule in Elounda (1937) Ausgrabungsfundstücke der französischen archäologischen Schule auf Griechisch (1937) Ausgrabungsfundstücke der französischen archäologischen Schule in Dreros (1937) Ausgrabungsfundstücke von Emm. Mavroidi in einem Grab in Kalo Chorio (alt Istronas) , hellenistische Zeit Fundstücke von Sammlungen aus verschiedenen Gegenden in Mirabello und Übergaben Antiquitäten von Agios Nikolaos( alt Lato pros Kamara) und anderen Gegenden des Kreises, aus der Sammlung der italienischen Besatzungstruppen Münzensammlung aus Übergaben

El. Venizelou 1, Neapoli
Öffnungszeiten: 9.00-16.00

Religiöse Denkmäler

Megali Panagia

Die Kathedrale, gewidmet der Mariä Himmelfahrt, steht majestätisch am nördlichen Ende des zentralen Platzes von Neapoli. Gebaut an der Wende des 19. zum 20. Jahrhundert, brauchte sie einen sehr großen Zeitraum wegen der wirtschaftlichen Schwierigkeiten der Zeit. Der Bau begann im Jahr 1889 und er wurde im Jahre 1927 eingeweiht. Die Kirche ist eine Kreuzkirche mit Kuppel. Der untere Teil, sowie alle Öffnungen, sind gebaut aus geschnitztem Mauerwerk aus grauem lokalem Marmor. Seine holzgeschnitzten Ikonostase und Hagiographien im Inneren stammen aus der Periode 1962-1965.

Fraro Kloster

Das katholische Kloster des Ordens der Franziskanermönche, von dem das halbverfallene Katholikon, gewidmet dem Heiligen Antonius, gerettet wird. Es wurde während der zweiten Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts gegründet, als dort Mönch Petros Filagris, später Papst Alexander V. war.

Metamorfosi tou Sotiros (Verklärung Christi)

Die zweischiffige Kirche befindet sich auf dem Friedhof von Neapoli und ist der Verklärung Christi und der Allerheiligen gewidmet. Ursprünglich war die Kirche dreischiffig, aber heute ist das Südschiff zerstört. Die Fresken stammen aus dem Ende des 13. und Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts, mit bedeutendsten Darstellung das Stillen der Jungfrau Maria von Heiligen Anna.

Inland

Neapoli

Home / Destinations / Inland / Neapoli

Neapoli

Neapoli, the historic seat of the Municipality, is located in the northwestern part of the Prefecture of Lassithi, the so-called Ano Mirabello, and is about 15 minutes away from the town of Agios Nikolaos. It is the seat of the Holy Metropolis of Petra and Cherronisos, as well as the seat of judicial services, and is filled with old mansions, scenic alleys, and well preserved ottoman fountains.

The main square with the municipal garden and the church of Megali Panagia complements the area’s grandeur and serenity. The Folk Art Museum of Neapoli is located right next to the church of Megali Panagia. It was established in 1979 and its exhibits offer visitors the opportunity to have a comprehensive view of life in Mirabello. The surrounding area is filled with monasteries and churches. The Franciscan Monastery of Fraro, as well as the archaeological site of Driros are significant historical monuments.

Moreover, the area is known for the wealth of events organized annually. Many celebratory, cultural, and athletic events take place in the main square, and the greatest one of all is the one held on the 14th and the 15th of August.

Culture

Folklore Museum of Neapoli

The museum is housed in the old Secondary School of Neapoli, a historic building of 1870. It was founded in 1979 by donations and its exhibits include icons, woodcarvings, household utensils, etc. allowing the visitor to form a complete picture of the life of Mirabello from the 19th century and beyond.

Address: 1 El. Venizelou square, Neapoli
Opening hours: Summer, daily 10.00-13.00 & 18.00-21.00
Winter, must book in advance

Culture

Archaeological Collection of Neapolis

Τhe Archaeological Collection of Neapoli was created before World War II and within two years included around 1000 items, found mostly in the area of Mirabello and in other sites of the Prefecture. During the Italian rule, thanks to the efforts of Emm. Mavroeidis (then ektaktos curator of Antiquities) the Collection was protected in the underground of the Club. Today it is housed in a building ceded to the Ministry of Culture by the Ministry of Health and the Municipality.

Address: 1 El. Venizelou square, Neapoli
Opening hours: 9.00-16.00

Religious Monuments

Metropolitan Church of Megali Panagia

The metropolitan church of Megali Panagia, dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary, stands majestically at the northern end of the main square of Neapoli. The church was erected at the end of the 19th, beginning of the 20th century, and its construction lasted for a very long time, due to the economic difficulties of the time. It started in 1889, but the church was inaugurated in 1927. The cruciform shaped church has a dome, and its lower part is made of carved stonework made of gray local marble, much like all its openings. His wood-carved iconostasis and hagiographies were created between 1962 and 1965.

Monastery of Fraro

The Catholic Monastery of the Order of the Franciscan monks, of which half of its abandoned katholikon is still preserved, is dedicated to Agios Antonios. Its founding dates back to the second half of the 14th century, when monk Petros Filagris, who later became Pope Alexander the 5th, lived.

Church of Metamorphosis of the Savior (Church of the Transfiguration)

The two-aisled church is located in the cemetery of Neapoli and is dedicated to the Metamorphosis of the Savior and Agioi Pantes. Originally, the church was three-aisled, but today the southern aisle is destroyed. The frescoes date back to the end of the 13th and early 14th century, with the most significant depiction being the nursing of the Virgin Mary from Agia Anna.