Районы материка

Исследуйте красоты
Айос-Николаоса.

Главная / Регионы / Районы материка

Районы материка

Красота муниципалитета Айос Николаос не ограничивается только в приморском районе. Очарование природы и внушительное влияние критской традиции продолжаются и на материке муниципалитета. Живописные деревни в нескольких минутах от Айос Николаоса обещают посетителю путешествие в историю Мирабелло.

Муниципалитет Айос-Николаоса включает более 70 деревень и поселков, сохраняющих глубокую традиционность.

Ано Мирабелло

Като Мирабелло

Культура

Лато

Один из самых важных городов – дорийский город-государство на Крите, который считается самым лучшим сохранившимся городом классического эллинистического периода. Построенный на вершине двух холмов и стратегически расположенный таким образом, что обеспечивал полную защиту всему городу. Ходят слухи, что его название произошло от имени Лито (у дорийцев «Лато»), матери Аполлона и Артемиды. Главной богиней города была Эйлифия, которая также была изображена на монетах. Город был разрушен около 200 г. до н.э.

Время работы: 8.00 – 15.00, кроме понедельника

Культура

Древний Дрирос

Считается важным древним городом Крита, построенный на горе Кадистос к северо-востоку от сегодняшнего Неаполиса. Он был основан в ХII веке до н.э. и процветал в период Темных веков и Архаической Греции и вплоть до эллинистического периода. На месте археологического памятника находятся два некрополя, в том числе и агора архаической эпохи. Здесь также расположен самый древний храм периода Темных веков - Дельфинио, построенный в честь бога Аполлона. Город был разрушен во времена гражданской войны, начатой в 220 году до нашей эры.

Виды деятельности

Айос-Николаос предлагает богатый выбор досуга в течение круглого года. Выберите то, что вам по вкусу.

Религиозные памятники

Панагия Кера

К югу, примерно в 500 м от поселения Крица находится трехнефная купольная церковь, один из самых важных памятников Крита. Центральный неф , посвященный Успению Девы Марии, вероятно был построен в период среднего византийского периода. В середине 13 века центральный неф украсили фресками. В начале XIV века храм подвергся обширной реконструкции. В первые десятилетия 14 в. провели обновление историографии фресок центрального неф а и параллельно были построены его два боковых неф а (северный посвящен Святому Антонию, а южный – Святой Анне), которые, в свою очередь, были расписаны фресками. Богатая иконография и различные стили фресок делают церковь Пресвятой Богородицы Керы в Крице самым важным памятником в регионе. Особо следует упомянуть изображение святого Франциска Ассизского в центральном проходе храма, а также сцены из апокрифических Евангелий на нефе святой Анны.

Монастырь Аретиу

Монастырь основан в конце 16 века и, несмотря на его разрушение турками во время революции 1821 года, продолжал свою деятельность, обновив в конце 19 века часть своих зданий. В 1955-56 монастырь был восстановлен, а в 1990-х годах он был полностью реконструирован. В центральном дворе находится большой кафоликон, посвященный Святой Троице, который был отреставрирован в 1880-81 гг., и часовня св. Лазаря, вероятно, погребального характера.

Монастырь Кардамуцас

Монастырь посвящен Тимиос Ставрос (Честному Кресту). Основан в конце 16в. и достиг расцвета в 17в. Его главный храм, датируемый 1580, расположен в центре монастыря и представляет из себя обычное однонефное здание с куполом. Вокруг него находятся остальные строения монастыря, которые были восстановлены.

Различные одноэтажные и двухэтажные здания имеют простую форму и выполнены из темного известнякового камня, характерного для этого района. Особое внимание уделено украшению кафоликона, которое представляет собой декоративную резную арочную нишу, тисненые розетки в окнах и декоративные панели в виде креста на его восточной стороне.

Inland

Explore the inner beauty
of Agios Nikolaos.

Home / Destinations / Inland

Ιnland

The coastal zone of the municipality of Agios Nikolaos is surely stunning, but the inland is equally impressive, with its natural beauty and grandeur of the Cretan tradition. Picturesque villages, merely few minutes away from Agios Nikolaos, promise visitors an unforgettable trip through the history of Mirabello.

Inland in figures

The inland of Agios Nikolaos includes more than 70 villages and settlements with strong traditional elements

Ano Mirabello

Kato Mirabello

Culture

Ancient Lato

Lato is one of the most important city-states of Dorians in Crete, and is considered the most well-preserved city of the classical Hellenistic period. Built between two hills, in a strategic location, offers defensive coverage to the entire city. It is rumored that its name derived from Leto (Doric type of Lato), who was the mother of Apollo and Artemis. The most important goddess of the city was Eileithyia, who was also depicted in the city’s currency. The city was destroyed around 200 BC.

Opening hours: 08.00 – 15.00, except Monday

Culture

Ancient Driros

Ancient Driros was an important city of Crete, and is built on Mount Kadistos, northeastern of current Neapoli. It was established in the 12th century BC, and flourished from the Geometric/Archaic eras until the Hellenistic years. The local archaeological site includes two acropolises and an agora from the Archaic era. Delfinio, the most ancient temple of the Geometric era, dedicated to Apollo, is located there, as well. The city was destroyed during the civil war that started on 220 BC.

Activities

Agios Nikolaos offers a rich selection of outdoor activities throughout the year. Find what’s the next event during your stay.

Religious Monuments

Panagia Kera

To the south and about 500 meters from the village of Kritsa we stumble upon the three-aisled, domed church of Panagia Kera, which is one of the most important monuments of Crete. The central aisle, dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary, was probably constructed during the Middle Byzantine period. In the middle of the 13th century, the central aisle was frescoed. The church, in the early 14th century, underwent extensive renovation. During the first decades of the 14th century, the frescoes of the central aisle were renovated, and the two lateral aisles (the northern dedicated to Agios Antonios and the southern to Agia Anna) were then constructed and frescoed. The rich iconography and different styles make the church of Panagia Kera in Kritsa the most important monument in the region. Particular mention should be made to the depiction of Saint Francis of Assisi in the central aisle of the church, as well as to the scenes from the occult gospels on the aisle of Agia Anna.

Aretiou Monastery

The monastery was founded in the late 16th century and, despite its destruction by the Turks during the Greek Revolution of 1821, it continued its operation, and in the late 19th century parts of its buildings were renovated. In 1955-1956, the monastery was re-established, and in the 1990s it was restored in its entirety. The central courtyard houses the large katholikon dedicated to the Holy Trinity and renovated in 1880-81, and the chapel of Agios Lazaros, which was probably a funerary structure.

Kardamoutsa Monastery

This Monastery is dedicated to Timios Stavros (Holy Cross), was founded at the end of the 16th century and flourished during the 17th century. Its katholikon dates back to 1580, is located in the center of the Monastery, and is a simple, vaulted single-aisled church. The remaining buildings of the Monastery are built around the katholikon and were restored after its reconstruction.

The various buildings, ground floor or two-storey, are of simple form, made with local dark limestone. Particular care has been given to the decoration of the katholikon, which bears an intricate small opening in the church’s sanctuary, with embossed rosettes and decorative panels in the shape of a cross on its eastern side.